“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference” – Robert Frost

For anyone who has read the “About me” page, you’d have seen that this blog was created as a means of sharing my travels and whereabouts for the one year that I was going to spend abroad.

If you’ve not read it, then don’t worry – it’s outdated now!

That little blurb was written during a time when I was in quite the ideal situation – my employer in Australia gave me an amazing opportunity to take a year off to see the world, with the comfort of knowing that I had my sweet middle-management job and a great company to return to afterwards in September. The sabbatical was intended as a way to get the whole travel thing outta my system and spend some time living uninhibitedly, with the benefit of a safety net.

But 3 weeks ago, after months of hard deliberation, I made the decision to formally resign from my position in Australia, to extend my time working in London and travelling the world a little while longer.    

Ok London, I’m ready to commit – for better or for worse (even on your gloomy days, even after your cold chill sent me to the ER with a chest infection, even when your exchange rate keeps toying with my emotions)

Having always been a people-pleaser who would habitually make the “career” choice over the “life” choice, it’s clear that the experience of living and travelling abroad has changed me – after making strides of personal development (I kinda cook now FFS! 😱), it would be a waste in my eyes to return to the comfort zone now. Even if it means taking a step back/sideways career-wise.

To say this was an easy no-brainer decision would be a lie – it absolutely terrifies  me that I’ve foresaken a safe and rosy future for an empty plain with a much more vast horizon. It also saddens me to be away from loved ones and missing out on certain milestones. But for each part of fear and sadness, there are equal parts of excitement and liberation at what may lie ahead.

That said, I am infinitely grateful for the path I’ve travelled on thus far, and for my managers and colleagues who, for 4 years, have given me professional and personal skills and opportunities that I’ll carry forward into the future. It has been a pleasure working with all you folks at RBC 😊

Now, with that little spiel over, it’s time to think about updating that blurb!

(Ps, who would have thought studying Robert Frost in year 12 English would someday become relevant!) 


4 thoughts on ““Two roads diverged in a wood, and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference” – Robert Frost

  1. I love this post! It’s pretty inspirational, to be honest.. I feel like I am in a similar situation as you and I need to make my own decision as to what my next step is going to be in my life. Thanks for the post; I need to hear stuff like this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Callie!

      Here’s a clip I saw a few days after I resigned which really helped reaffirm my decision – if you’ve not seen it then hopefully it gives you some food for thought too 😊

      Like

  2. What an infinitely brave decision made with heart and mind! We miss you in Sydney but are inspired by your courage to explore the globe and discover parts of yourself you never knew existed! Carpe diem Liann! Xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

