I wanna wish you a Merry Christmas!

A bit late now since it’s Boxing Day, but Merry Christmas / Frohe Weihnachten from Essen, Germany!

I hope everyone had a wonderful day filled with Christmas cheer, awesome celebrations and lots of love.

This festive season, more than most, I am so thankful for the love and support of family, friends and colleagues all over the world, without whom I wouldn’t be who I am, and where I am, today. To be happy, healthy and loved are the most fundamental human needs and it’s often so easy to forget that these are such priceless gifts that no money can buy! #BLESSUP

At a time where everything is so exciting and merry, it can also be easy to forget about those less fortunate. Spare a thought or prayer for the people who don’t have a roof over their heads, a meal to share amongst the company of loved ones, or the comfort of a stable future. Being in a German city with refugee camps right now, I’m reminded of the plight of all these people whose lives are being torn apart by war. I can only hope that they’ll one day find compassion and acceptance wherever they end up. My parents were amongst the wave of Vietnamese refugees in the 70’s; fast forward 40 years and there are now tonnes of Vietnamese-Aussies contributing great things to their society because they were given an opportunity to flourish. Like seriously, where would we be without pho!? So, give and you shall receive – hopefully we can all remember this 🙂

Anyway, I was lucky enough to spend this Christmas with my uncle’s family and friends in Germany. It’s been averaging around 10 degrees Celsius, so all hopes of a white Christmas were gone ages ago. But it was still a wonderfully green European Christmas and I’ve had heaps of fun! I’m feeling a bit sluggish right now so I’ll let the pictures do the rest of the story-telling of my German Christmas.

Christmas Shopping = Christmas markets = Hot Christmas wine
Probably would be a bit more magical with snow, but still cool!
Don’t leave me unattended with cookie dough otherwise this will happen
Christmas Eve dinner with the family, complete with dorky Christmas sweaters (because I’ve never been cold enough to wear a jumper at Christmas time!)
All scrubbed up for Christmas church service
Christmas day feasting and drinking (and an impending Boxing Day hangover). Also a good reminder as to why one shouldn’t drink both beer and wine in one sitting. #REGRETS

Next stop, Zurich!

2 thoughts on “I wanna wish you a Merry Christmas!

  1. Merry Christmas Liann! I think you are in the wrong job!! (Outside of your sabbatical and when you go back to your day job). I’ll let you and others work out whether I’m being sarcastic or serious! There is this girl (http://www.neverendingfootsteps.com/) who travelled the world for years doing exactly this kind of thing and in the end I think she did / is doing a book deal. A different style but bias or not, I think yours is better. This blog is very good with the insights and your own views and thoughts. People, close friends, family, colleagues, acquaintances etc should book mark, and can refer to this in the future on any of the places if want to have another peek. Or, just give you another buzz! All the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Gin!! Hahaha I’ve always thought Finance was my calling but cheers for the encouragement (sarcastic or not!) – I had a look at that blog and it is definitely intriguing! Again, thanks for all the continued support 😀 Before we know it, I’ll be back in Oz (or HK first!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

