Extroverted introvert or introverted extrovert?  

I’ve always been a person who consciously thinks to pick the easy route, but ends up opting for the bigger challenge. I’m decisively indecisive when it comes to my own life because I prefer to keep my options open. I like pickles, just not on cheeseburgers (doesn’t the tomato relish add enough sourness?). At least I thought so.

A year ago, I’d say I knew myself quite well – but after a whirlwind 12 months culminating in an Aurelius moment of self reflection, while eating banoffee pie in a country where I never thought I’d end up, I’ve realised that I barely know myself at all! Beyond the cushy pink rainbow covered walls of the comfort zone lies a scary amount of unchartered territory.

People don’t usually believe me when I say I’m fundamentally introverted, and now that I’m truly on my own, I’ve started questioning if that’s really the case. When I was home, I highly valued my own company whenever I got the chance (only child syndrome, it’s been labelled). But merely 4 days into a life on my own, i think I’m starting to go a little crazy from it! Building relationships from scratch has never been a trait that I consider a strongpoint, but for the first time ever, it’s going to be something I really need to focus and improve on.

Thankfully, my HK colleagues have been extremely nice and welcoming since I’ve arrived on these humid shores! For sure, I could benefit from some/any knowledge of Cantonese, but they have truly gone out of their way to make sure I don’t end up at home all the time twiddling my thumbs. Work will be a challenge, but at the very least, I’ll be spending the bulk of my time in HK with friendly people. And to overcome the random spouts of homesickness, I’ve just booked tickets to see my relatives in Vietnam in a few weeks time!

 Weekend Feasting with part of the HK team. Isnt it funny that the photo looks like it’s been split in half if you look from a distance? I swear I didn’t photoshop additional people in … 

So since also being reunited with my Sydney colleagues across the oceans far and wide, I’ve become aware that I actually have some readers – woohoo! 😁 I promise I’ll try do some interesting things soon, once I properly overcome this jetlag (I spent all of Sunday sleeping – almost there, almost there)

Oh and another new thing I’ve learnt today? Banoffee pie is delicious.

Leave a Reply

