Barcelona, the school of cool

A few moments ago in a cafe in Islington  I found myself staring out at the gloomy London sky, reminiscing about Spanish sunshine… And then I figured I should blog before all the wonderful thoughts escape my memory!

After 24 hours of no sleep in Ibiza, we had pulled into Barcelona at 9am totally spent. After some rest, we bounced back and managed to experience some of the many things Barca has to offer – the beach was awesome, tapas was incredible, and I really admire the artistic grungey vibe of the Gothic quarter where we stayed. During the afternoon, businesses operate in their little storefronts, but then at night, the shutters come down and you’re surrounded with quirky expressive street art all over the shop facades. It’s a shame I forgot to take any photos of them.

Shopping was great .. Zara, Bershka and H&M didn’t disappoint. I know I’ll definitely be back one day – but next time will need to adjust expectations on Spanish working hours (still don’t fully understand it actually). The only thing I know for sure is that restaurants here don’t stay open as late as France and Italy… Just when I was getting accustomdd to midnight dinners!

We were hosted by a lovely couple from airbnb…  Jose and his partner Carlos (or Paolo??) were these really suave Spanish guys with impeccable taste in everything, especially music – you can’t wake up to the sounds of 90’s pop and not feel chirpy! Where we were, everyone was so quirky and unique (and good looking!! So unfair). The general modes of transports were bikes, rollerblades and skateboards-  I was pretty impressed with the number of skatergirls I saw. (Angelo you must teach me how to ride a skateboard please!!)

My iPad is on 2% battery but I don’t think there’s much more to say. All in all,  Barcelona was just the total embodiment of effortless cool.

  
La Barceloneta – probably translates to beach of beautiful people 😭

  The magic fountain of Montjuïc, with the Palau Nacional out back doing its own light show 

The view atop Montjuïc hill, from behind the aforementioned fountain 

La sagrada familia – maybe I’ll wait til it’s finished to go inside. Or maybe next lifetime. Whichever comes first … 

 Tapas at Cerveceria Catalunya – waiting for food usually gets me grumpy, but this meal was totally worth the 1 hour of our time! 

Sangria and paella = one happy girl 

Leave a Reply

